First Blog Post

Hi, thank you very much for taking the time to visit this blog. 

My name is Amy, and I am very interested in Asian culture. I have studied both Japanese and Chinese, lived in both China and Japan, and I am now in school to be a computer programmer. I hope to be able to produce something soon to contribute to the Asian language learning community. I have always appreciated reading other people’s blogs on this subject in the past, and I hope that my future posts are helpful.

7 comments
  1. Jericho Jak said:

    Amy, I appreciate the follow. I look forward to learning from you; and hopefully you get something out of my experiences as well. 🙂

    • duaimei said:

      Thank you for commenting on my blog! I’m definitely very new to this whole blogging thing. When I read your report on learning Chinese I was very inspired to start studying my own Chinese/Japanese again. It’s been a sort of a lull for me since I’m working full time plus going to two different universities to get the certificate/degrees that I want.

      • Jericho Jak said:

        That’s awesome. You have a lot on your plate, it seems, and it will be tempting to quit as time passes and life gets in the way. Let’s stay in touch and keep each other motivated!

  2. Maddie said:

    Not trying to be rude or anything but…. Your a girl?

  3. What a great idea for a blog, and I look forward to learning more. It is great that you have lived in both Japan & China, and now for a tough question…do you have any preference between the two languages (or cultures)? It is interesting that you are now studying to be a computer programmer…learning yet another language. You are a true linguist!

    • duaimei said:

      Thank you for your kind words! To answer your question (sort of) I love both equally, in different ways! It depends on the day on whether I am pining for Chinese food or Japanese food. Both cultures are very fascinating. I will say that I tend to enjoy (the translations of) Chinese literature more than Japanese. That’s mostly because of the reading material chosen for us to read while I was in college. I do NOT recommend learning about the modern trend of Japanese grotesque realism.

Leave a Reply

