Language Learning Game: RIP TranslationZilla

::sigh::

I’m behind the times on this one. I just tried to go onto Translationzilla for the purpose of writing this blog entry, they had a pretty fun game for learning Chinese and Japanese. However, when I went to go to their website just now, I saw the message that they’ve decided to close.

http://translationzilla.com/

I’ve known about it for a year, and I was just on it last month.

This blog describes in detail Translationzilla in its glory days.

http://slapstart.com/2010/01/translationzilla-learning-languages-shouldnt-be-this-fun/

One one hand, I was always a bit skeptical of people paying for their service since the game was fully functional for free. On the other hand, I was hoping this would inspire others to  make other games that were also fun. I believe there needs to be MORE games for language learners. It shouldn’t just be flashcards and pod casts.

Leave a Reply

