Japanese Language Learning Tool: Mangajin

Image

I JUST discovered this amazing magazine! Apparently It’s been around since the 90s.

Here are the first 30 volumes for free:

http://www.thespectrum.net/features/mangajin/

They show a page of manga (japanese cartoons for those who aren’t familiar with the term.)  Then they spend a page translating the manga page that was shown. There are also cultural tips interspersed throughout the magazine.  I think, in the near future, I’m going to have to track down the entire collection and buy it!

I discovered this magazine series through a tangent that took me to: http://japanese.about.com/ .

Which, today was the first time I have ever been on that website, but it also looks like a great resource for learning Japanese.

Then I tried to go to chinese.about.com, but apparently it doesn’t exist! I was redirected to the http://www.chineseculture.about.com. I didn’t notice that I was redirected, so I was a bit angry that the Japanese.about page gets cool language learning resources, and the Chinese page just gets some lame culture links. (OK, they MIGHT not be totally lame, I didn’t exactly click on anything) I think it’s not right that about has a Japanese language page and not a Chinese language page!  It just occurred to me to check, and there is a french.about.com and a german.about.com.

I’ve always thought that manga is a great way to learn Japanese. When I went to Japan I found a store called ‘Book Off.’ It sells used books for fifty cents to a dollar. I broke three out of four of my suitcases trying to get all of the books I bought back from Japan.

When I was in China, I would sometimes buy Chinese comic books and work my way through them. I think I will have to try to find some online Chinese comics to share on this blog.

So, what do you think of using comics to learn a language? Have you been able to find any online resources?

 

 

 

3 comments
  1. languagewanderer said:

    I think that comics might be useful while learning eg. Chinese or Japanese in order to read manga. But, honestly, I haven’t been using any comics for language learning purposes 🙂

    • duaimei said:

      Well, if you like comics, and you can find them in different languages. You might as well kill two birds with one stone!

      I like raw manga because I can look at the artwork when I don’t feel like translating anymore!

Leave a Reply

